2014 – Happy New Year!

Happy New Year – 2014!

The New Year is finally here.  Over the past few months I’ve been thinking a lot about what I could do in 2014 that would be meaningful.  That means no cheesy resolution to lose weight or get to the gym.   This year I’m going to do something different.

After much thought, I made my decision and here it is … For me, when I hear of friends suffering from a serious illness or battling cancer I want so much to reach out and help.  Send a card or give them a call but sometimes that doesn’t seem like enough.   So this year I’m going to do something to give back.  I’ve decided to grow my hair and donate it to Pink Heart Funds.

Pink Heart Funds is based out of Long Beach, MS and is a non-profit and 501(c) charity organization that provides wigs to those suffering from cancer or other hair disorders and who don’t have sufficient insurance coverage or are unable to afford the purchase of wigs.

I originally thought I would donate to Locks of Love, an organization that provides hairpieces to financially disadvantaged children in the United States and Canada under the age of 21, and is also a non profit organization but when I shared this idea with a hair dresser I know, she informed me that, considering my hair color, it might be more appropriate for me to donate to Pink Heart Funds.  I believe she was referring to the beautiful silver/gray streaks that seem to be popping up all over my head.   I never heard of this organization before.  I’m glad she told me about it even if I had to accept the fact that I’m going a bit gray.

Pink Heart Funds Mission Statement

Pink Heart Funds exists to Inspire, Encourage, and Restore Hope to persons affected by cancer and hair loss disorders.

Donation Guidelines

1.  At least 10 inches long – no problem for me.  My hair grows like a weed
2.  Can be one length or layered
3.  Must be clean and dry
4.  Secured by ponytail holder or braid
5.  Placed in a sealed bag
6.  May be colored or permed (not over processed or bleached)
7.  Grey is acceptable – Oh Brother!  Apparently, I fit the criteria!
8.  All ethnicities accepted

To learn more about Pink Heart Funds visit their website at www.pinkheartfunds.org.

I visited my hair dresser, John Flores at Ell Salon who has been cutting my hair for the past 15-20 years.  He has agreed to get me through the rough days.  You know, the days when you wake up and say, “UGG, this hair.  I’ve just got to get it cut!”  None of that for me this year.  Maybe a trim here and there to keep it healthy, but that’s it!

015

First measurement – 4 inches

My starting hair measurement is 4 inches in the back.  John said it should grow a half inch to an inch a month.  If I fall into the three-quarters of an inch a month growth, I should have the required 10 inches way before year end.

To keep my hair strong and healthy I will maintain a healthy diet.  I plan to follow the Top 10 Foods for Healthy Hair guidelines highlighted in an article by Elizabeth B. Krieger.  Here is a list of seven foods I intend to eat.   Salmon, which is rich in protein, vitamin D, and omega-3 fatty acids.  Your body needs these fatty acids to make your hair grow. Walnuts, which is rich in biotin and vitamin E, which helps protect your cells from DNA damage; Sweet potatoes instead of regular potatoes.  They will help protect and produce the oils that maintain my scalp.  I’ll incorporate eggs into my diet which are a great source for protein.  They are loaded with four key minerals:  zinc, selenium, sulfur, and iron.  Iron is important because it helps cells carry oxygen to the hair follicles; Spinach, which also has plenty of Ir0n plus beta carotene, folate, and vitamin C.  It will also help keep my hair follicles healthy.   Greek yogurt, which is high in hair-friendly protein, vitamin B5 (pantothenic acid — an ingredient you’ll often see on hair care product labels), and vitamin D; and Blueberries which are high in vitamin C to help circulation to the scalp and support the tiny blood vessels that feed the follicles.  Thank you Elizabeth B. Krieger for this hair healthy information.

Luckily for me, all the above foods are in my current diet so I shouldn’t have any trouble keeping the hair healthy and growing.

So that’s it in a nutshell.

Have a safe and Happy New Year and stay tuned for periodic hair growing updates.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “2014 – Happy New Year!

  1. Cajun Bob

    Wonder Woman,
    What a great heart and a wonderful idea. Your hair has always been exceptionally beautiful! I know someone will really appreciate the donation of your lovely locks. I’m sure it will make them very happy.
    I love the diet, thanks for including the link.
    Happy New Years Sis
    We love you both
    GBU
    Semper Fidelis
    Cajun & CC

  2. Happy New Year Denise and I think that is an Awesome gift you are giving

  3. carol

    A very honorable resolution. So many women I know personally have been fighting this battle.

Leave a Reply

